Page 2 of 3

Posted: Wed May 10, 2017 8:16 pm
by brentp
Thanks for the update. So wait, let's confirm if there's a bug in the app:

If you:

* read the config
* edit the CAN mapping
* change the data type to 'signed'
* press the "check" button

* Now edit the mapping again in the app. Does it still show signed?

* write the config back to RC
* now re-read the config from RC

* Now edit the same mapping in the app. Does it still show signed, or did it revert back to unsigned?

Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 12:14 am
by BK
brentp wrote:Thanks for the update. So wait, let's confirm if there's a bug in the app:

If you:

* read the config
* edit the CAN mapping
* change the data type to 'signed'
* press the "check" button

* Now edit the mapping again in the app. Does it still show signed? Yes, still shows signed

* write the config back to RC
* now re-read the config from RC

* Now edit the same mapping in the app. Does it still show signed, or did it revert back to unsigned? Reverted back to unsigned :(

Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 12:15 am
by brentp
Thanks, I'll check it out here. Thank you for testing it!

Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 3:58 pm
by brentp
So I cannot re-create the problem. Can you confirm the firmware and app version you're on? Is this happening on mobile as well as windows / OSX?

Thanks,

Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 5:53 pm
by BK
App Version is 1.9.1

I did not notice if the issue was occurring using the windows application. I just knew it wasn't working. I can check this evening.

I'm fairly certain I'm running the current firmware as well. I will double check, but I made a note to confirm all Aps and firmware were current before my last event.

Brad

Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 11:38 pm
by BK
Android Version 1.9.1
Windows Version 1.9.0
Firmware 2.11.0 (I believe it was current when shipped)

I tested the same scenario on the PC with the same results. After making the change, writing it, check setting (ok), read from RCP, check setting (resorts back to unsigned).

Please let me know next steps.

Brad

Posted: Fri May 12, 2017 12:51 pm
by BK
I also reverted back to a previous file and added the channel with the same results.

Posted: Fri May 12, 2017 2:15 pm
by brentp
Thanks for the update. We'll dig deeper over here. Uncertain at this point if it's a firmware or app issue. You could try editing the .rcp configuration file in a text editor and change the type to '1'. save the file, load it in the app and write it to RCP, also - of course - checking the UI for what it displays as type.

Here's where you'll find it in the config file. See the 'type' field.

},
"canChanCfg": {
"chans": [
{
"add": 0.0,
"bigEndian": false,
"bm": false,
"bus": 0,
"div": 1.0,
"filtId": 0,
"id": 0,
"idMask": 0,
"len": 1,
"max": 20.0,
"min": 0.0,
"mult": 1.0,
"nm": "FOO1",
"offset": 0,
"prec": 1,
"sr": 1,
"type": 1,
"ut": ""
}


We'll continue digging from here :)

Posted: Fri May 12, 2017 2:36 pm
by BK
Very odd. It's showing type 1.

{
"add": 0.0,
"bigEndian": true,
"bm": false,
"bus": 0,
"div": 1.0,
"filtId": 0,
"id": 773,
"idMask": 0,
"len": 2,
"max": 20.0,
"min": -20.0,
"mult": 0.050000000000000003,
"nm": "ClosedLoop",
"offset": 4,
"prec": 1,
"sr": 25,
"type": 1,
"ut": "%"
}

Posted: Fri May 12, 2017 11:51 pm
by BK
Brent, I know you said you're working on it but I thought I'd give you an update.

I just read the file, saved it, used sublime editor to edit it to type 1, wrote it to the RCP, checked it (all good), read the file, checked it, and it resort backed to unsigned. I then saved the file again and checked it in sublime and it did indeed change back to type 0.

Brad

Posted: Wed May 17, 2017 4:25 pm
by brentp
Hi,

Thanks for the update.

Could you try this variation. Without using the CAN mapping screen:

* read the configuration from RCP
* save to file
* manually edit and change type to '1'
* save the file
* load the file in RC software
* immediately write the settings to RCP
* now *re-read* settings from RCP (you can re-launch the app if you'd like, first)
* save to a new file.
* does the data type show as '1' or '0'?

By not using the CAN mapping screen at all it exercises the lower-level code for reading/writing configuration, as well as the firmware.

Thanks!

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 1:53 am
by BK
From the racetrack screen in setup I followed your instructions and it still resorted back to Type 0.

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 4:53 pm
by brentp
Hi BK,

Thanks for the response. We'll dig into this more and see if we can reproduce it.

You're doing this on Windows, correct?

Posted: Wed May 24, 2017 5:01 pm
by BK
brentp wrote:You're doing this on Windows, correct?
Correct.

Posted: Sat May 27, 2017 4:29 pm
by brentp
Ok, I tried it again on windows (the 1.9.2 pre-release) as well as the latest 2.11.0 firmware. Oddly, I can not reproduce your problem yet. I need to double check it on windows with the current 1.9.1 release (already checked it on my dev environment in Linux)

Can anyone else successfully set the data type field to be something other than 'unsigned' when creating a CAN mapping? Would be good to see if this reproduces anywhere else.

Does this also happen on Android, if you have the android version available?

Thanks for your patience. Ultimately I'd be up for doing a video chat to see it in action if we can't resolve it.