Logging Serial Data

General Q&A specific to RaceCapture/Pro. For app related questions post in the RaceCapture App forum. also see the <a href="http://www.autosportlabs.net/RaceCapture">RaceCapture Information Page</a>

Moderators: JeffC, rdoherty, stieg, brentp

Post Reply
kbuckham
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:45 pm
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Logging Serial Data

Post by kbuckham »

How easy would it be for us to log data from a serial input? I am in the process of getting my engine computer to spit out it's real time logging into serial data. I would really like to log the Race Capture Pro and engine computer data once and ideally in Race Capture Pro.

How easy would this be to do? I have lots of parameters I care about logging some of which are not easily available as electrical signals externally like load and pressure indices to the speed density maps, boost target, knock values, knock based retard, and fuel trims. Many other values are also available through this that I could tap externally but this list is very long including such items as manifold pressure, AIT, throttle position, RPM, coolant temp, oil temp, fuel pressure, and wideband O2.

I am a software guy so I don't mind coding something up on either side of the connection. Either to get the data into a format for Race Capture Pro, or work at extending Race Capture Pro to consume the data.

I do realize that there will be some delay and obviously a bandwidth limitation (samples / second) over a serial interface even running at 115,200 or 250 kbps.

I can't wait to get my "Data Junkie" device! I've only become more excited about this product since I first signed up! I missed out on the mobile app + bluetooth but I'll be getting one of those once they are available. Thanks again!!!

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6282
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

Hi kbuckham,

Thanks for supporting the project!

Next to the socket for the GPS module is the connection we use for the telemetry connection, bluetooth, or something else.

that something else could be an integration between Race Capture and your ECU - if you're comfortable writing in C code you should be able to write the code that queries the ECU, fetches the values you want, and logs the data.

Hooks in the Lua scripting - like for creating virtual , calculated channels may also be used as part of this solution.

Hope this helps- but yes, basically these types of things will be possible with RaceCapture/Pro.
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

kbuckham
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 6:45 pm
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada

Post by kbuckham »

Perfect! Is there a way I can get started on building something soon or will that be after the general release? I'm not looking for special access, I'm just curious.

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6282
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

We will be making the software / hardware open source on the fulfillment of the Indiegogo campaign- not much information other than what we have in our existing documentation.

I'm sure you could write the base C algorithms that parses the ECU's data stream outside of RaceCapture, then you can snap it in (more or less) when you receive the hardware and source code!
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

andylaurence
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:35 am

Post by andylaurence »

Would this have to be done in C? I'm no programmer, but the ECU on my GSXR engine has a TTL serial output that can output diagnostic data from every sensor. It'd be great to be able to log that data. It's documented on the ECU Editor forums.
Sprinting an ADR Sport 2
www.endurancelay.co.uk

brentp
Site Admin
Posts: 6282
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 6:36 am

Post by brentp »

We have routines for reading / writing the serial port in Lua. picking one over the other depends on the complexity and speed required (as with anything)
Brent Picasso
CEO and Founder, Autosport Labs
Facebook | Twitter

andylaurence
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 10:35 am

Post by andylaurence »

I'm mostly interested in RPM, gear selected, clutch position and throttle position. RPM will most likely also come in through a pulse input (there's a separate output from the ECU for that), gear selection only needs to be 1-2Hz and the other two can be ~10Hz for reasonable resolution.
Sprinting an ADR Sport 2
www.endurancelay.co.uk

Post Reply