Page 1 of 1

Why are my sessions starting and stopping so often?

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:23 pm
by BrianKK
Used the RCP for the first time a month or so ago.

Installed a [very small] LUA script so that it would auto-start logging.

From ~5 hours of track time from 5-6 actual sessions, I have no less than 42 log files with on-track data. 127 files if you count the time it was sitting in the pits being turned on/off while servicing.

From the 42 log files, the vast majority of them have no more than 1 complete lap - many have just a portion of a lap. Most have a portion of a lap, a full lap, then a portion of another lap. I have not found a single session with more than 3 complete laps, though I haven't yet opened all of them (I've probably been through half of them).

FTR: In reality, the first two sessions were ~2 hours each, then the remaining 3-4 sessions were 20-30 minutes each. This was at Thunderhill near Sacramento - using the full 5 mile track. The GPS antenna is mounted to the center of the roof of the car - close to the windshield.

With that, any idea why it kept starting/stopping so often? I'm happy to upload the 42 log files with data (about 9MB zipped) if it helps

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 3:28 pm
by brentp
Hi,

Can you share your script so we can see how it's designed? Also, what firmware is being reported?

Across a sampling of your log files, if you open them up in a text editor, do you see the interval column starting again from a low number, or do they all keep incrementing? A reset interval will indicate the system is resetting somehow.

Resetting would show up as a temporary interruption of LED activity on the front panel as well, if you were to test around the block or do a static test.

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 9:51 pm
by BrianKK
brentp wrote:Hi,

Can you share your script so we can see how it's designed? Also, what firmware is being reported?
The LUA script in question is this one: https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... Powered_On (FWIW, Ryan D was there and helped us get auto-logging working)

I just went out to the car to confirm. It looks like spacing is a little different (not sure if whitespace matters in LUA). This is exactly what's displayed under "Scripting" in the app:

Code: Select all

function onTick()
startLogging()
 end
Where do I find what firmware I'm running? It wasn't obvious in the app.
Across a sampling of your log files, if you open them up in a text editor, do you see the interval column starting again from a low number, or do they all keep incrementing? A reset interval will indicate the system is resetting somehow.

Resetting would show up as a temporary interruption of LED activity on the front panel as well, if you were to test around the block or do a static test
Interval is the first column, yes? Seems pretty consistent.

Code: Select all

$ head -n2 * | grep -v Inter
==> rc_10.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,-0.17,-0.35,0.87,3,-2,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_11.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,-0.22,0.44,0.87,-9,0,-1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_112.log <==
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_113.log <==
5083,1495397973429,,,,,,-0.26,0.01,0.76,0,-2,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_114.log <==
5083,1495398110116,,,,,,-0.02,-0.91,1.02,19,2,2,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_115.log <==
5084,1495398230167,,,,,,-0.12,-0.53,0.93,11,-2,3,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_118.log <==
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_119.log <==
5083,1495401391422,,,,,,-0.33,0.76,0.94,-24,-2,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_12.log <==
5083,1495301311430,,,,,,-0.21,0.44,0.95,-6,-1,-2,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_120.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,0.2,-0.71,0.87,17,-1,-3,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_121.log <==
5083,1495401791082,,,,,,-0.07,-0.02,0.68,0,-3,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_123.log <==
364,0,,,,,,0.08,0.02,0.82,0,-0,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_124.log <==
5084,1495404833147,,,,,,0.51,0.54,0.8,-19,-2,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_125.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,-0.18,-0.65,0.95,9,1,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_13.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,0.14,-1.08,0.95,28,2,2,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_14.log <==
5083,1495301893201,,,,,,-0.35,-0.03,0.87,-0,0,-1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_15.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,-0.04,-0.02,0.94,1,3,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_16.log <==
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_17.log.csv <==
5083,1495304246588,,,,,,-0.19,0.29,1.24,-5,2,-2,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_18.log <==
5083,1495304718012,,,,,,0.35,0.3,0.91,-14,-0,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_19.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,0.1,-0.86,0.95,23,1,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_20.log <==
5083,1495306237415,,,,,,-0.34,0.08,0.99,-1,1,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_21.log <==
5083,1495306475138,,,,,,-0.2,-0.06,0.86,1,-2,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_22.log <==
5083,1495307094611,,,,,,-0.19,0.73,0.95,-12,-2,-1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_23.log <==
5083,1495307224588,,,,,,-0.05,0.18,0.96,-11,1,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_24.log <==
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_25.log <==
5084,1495308124251,,,,,,0.36,0.51,1.14,-8,1,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_26.log <==
5084,1495309299461,,,,,,0.07,0.87,1.02,-21,3,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_27.log <==
5084,1495309690553,,,,,,0.4,-0.39,1.12,6,1,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_28.log <==
5084,1495310338749,,,,,,-0.25,0.95,0.93,-19,-0,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_29.log <==
5083,1495310652703,,,,,,0.12,-0.72,1.12,15,-1,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_30.log <==
5083,1495311091178,,,,,,0.06,0.42,0.97,-9,0,-1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_31.log <==
5083,1495311884131,,,,,,-0.35,0.02,0.92,1,-2,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_32.log <==
5083,1495312421688,,,,,,-0.16,0.93,0.94,-20,-1,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_33.log <==
5084,1495312828066,,,,,,-0.13,-0.0,0.54,-0,-2,-1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_34.log <==
5083,1495312969220,,,,,,0.52,-0.07,0.94,-1,1,2,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_35.log <==
5083,1495313277296,,,,,,0.09,-0.52,0.93,15,-1,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_36.log <==
5084,0,,,,,,-0.07,-0.01,1.11,0,-1,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_37.log <==
5084,1495314230565,,,,,,-0.27,0.04,0.75,-0,-1,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_38.log <==
5083,0,,,,,,-0.02,0.5,0.98,-10,-0,0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_8.log <==
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

==> rc_9.log <==
5084,0,,,,,,-0.24,0.07,0.52,0,-1,-0,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
FWIW: because of it's mounting location, I can't see the LEDs while in the car (it's located on the center console, next to the driver - just out of sight)

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:03 pm
by brentp
Hi,

Firmware is reported in the upper right of the app after it connects. It should show "RaceCapture... X.Y.Z"

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:32 pm
by BrianKK
2.11.0-rc1

Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2017 11:47 pm
by brentp
Hi Brian, Try upgrading to the 2.11.0 firmware release, found here:
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... e_Firmware

Your script seems sane, but I would personally replace it with something that triggered off of speed or battery voltage, just so you don't get needless logs. Examples:
https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... g_Examples

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 12:44 am
by BrianKK
Will upgrade the firmware.

Unfortunately, it's not a street car, so I can't test it around the block.

Just so we're on the same page, from the logs, it appears to be resetting, yes?

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:23 pm
by brentp
It does appear to be resetting.

After upgrading firmware, you could also pull the unit out and power it over USB with a USB charger or battery, and run it in your street car for a while. It's not Apples:Apples testing since you're not in the race car, powered over 12v with any sensors you have connected, but it could be a baseline test at least.

Let us know what you find out!

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:37 pm
by tfriest
You can do conditionals and also do steps outside of onTick()...

My script is based off the example to turn logging on when the car is moving (I added a check so if I stop for a short time, like from a spin, it doesn't turn logging off)...

The example is at https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/RaceCapt ... g_Examples (the gps speed one).

--------
if isLogging() == 0 and getGpsSpeed() > 0 then
startLogging()
end
--------

would work and avoid any bug about starting logging over and over.

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:42 pm
by brentp
thanks for that. there's a ton of different useful approaches, which makes the Lua scripting so powerful.

Worth noting, startLogging() and stopLogging() are both idempotent, so you can safely call them repeatedly without any issues.

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:35 pm
by BrianKK
Correct me if I'm wrong, but because the unit is resetting, it doesn't matter what the trigger is -- be it power on, GPS speed, engine on, or launch. I would still get multiple logs, as the trigger is not the thing that's at fault.

Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:44 pm
by brentp
Correct. Something else is causing the repeated logs / re-setting, not the repeated "startLogging()" .