Page 1 of 1

No OBDII / CAN data

Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 5:23 pm
by jaytee
I have an RCP3 with v2.11.0 firmware and the OBDII/CAN adapter for my 2012 Porsche Cayman R.

I'm not seeing any CAN or OBD data, and the CAN light on the unit is not lit. I turned on OBD channels, CAN bus, and CAN mapping; all other settings are default.

So far, I've cycled through CAN bus speeds without success. I'm trying to use the CAN logger script to collect data and reverse-engineer the mappings.

Any suggestions on what to try next?


Thanks!

Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 8:35 pm
by jaytee
Device log is below. Interestingly, it logs the same messages even if I turn off OBDII & CAN functions.

[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[USB] Received CMD: {"getLogfile":null}
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[USB] Received CMD: {"getStatus":null}
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[USB] Received CMD: {"getLogfile":null}
[USB] Received CMD: {"getStatus":null}
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[USB] Received CMD: {"getLogfile":null}
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[USB] Received CMD: {"getStatus":null}
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[CAN device] timeout rx CAN msg
[USB] Received CMD: {"getLogfile":null}

Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 9:01 pm
by boggie1688
Waazzzup Jay!! You took the plunge!! Then immediately hit a wall!

All in good fun!

There are two can bus on the RCP3. You might wanna try changing the bus. To do this, change the following in the canbus logger script:

canBus = 1 or 2

https://wiki.autosportlabs.com/CAN_Bus_logger

Not sure this is completely your issue, but worth a shot. Don't forget to cycle through the baud rates on each bus.

Code: Select all

-- Log messages from CAN bus
-- be sure to set the correct baud rate in the CAN settings

--------------------------------------------------
-- change this to 0 for CAN bus 1, or 1 for CAN bus 2
canBus = 0
--------------------------------------------------

--this function drains all pending CAN messages
--and outputs messages to the log
function outputCAN()
 repeat 
  id, ext, data = rxCAN(canBus, 1000)
  if id ~= nil then
   print('[' ..id ..']: ')
   for i = 1,#data do
    print(data[i] ..', ')
   end
   println('')
  end
 until id == nil
    println('Timeout: no CAN data')
end
 
function onTick()
 outputCAN()
end

setTickRate(30)

Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:40 pm
by jaytee
Thanks!

Oddly enough, the CAN LED lit up immediately when I plugged in the OBDII cable. No changes to the config....

I managed to capture some CAN data, so I'll open a thread in the CAN forum as I work through decoding it.


OT: where did you end up mounting your RCP?

Posted: Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:16 am
by boggie1688
I put it under my driver seat. I had to tap power and also add an oil pressure sender, that side of the car made the most sense. Center of the car is rather difficult with stock interior. I also didn't drill the floor pan. Instead I poke through the foam in the carpet and secured the datalogger tightly.

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:33 am
by jaytee
Quick update:

Orange CAN data indicator went off again today while collecting data and no combination of settings would re establish the connection.

I plugged in my Durametric cable and it couldn't connect either. Turning the car off / waiting a few minutes/ back on didn't do the trick, so it must have a timeout window.

More research needed....

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:53 pm
by jaytee
Durametric cable works fine now (as does a bluetooth OBDII dongle), but the RCP3 does not see CAN data through the OBDII cable.

Any suggestions on troubleshooting? Any way to get more detailed information from the RCP3?